Archive | 8:56 pm

Disaster #4: Green Bean Casserole

14 Oct

I’ve been putting off this recipe for awhile. I’ve had the ingredients for a couple of weeks, but when it came down to making a dish I would go out of my way and go shop for ingredients for another dish. I was actually going to make fried chicken this week, but my week has been kind of busy and going to the store is time consuming. Therefore, I told myself, “Just use what you have, stop bullshitting.” So I did.

But why did I put off making the dish you ask? Because it’s BORING. I mean, it tastes good but anything that has to do with casseroles, mashed potatoes, and loafes sound like something an old lady would cook. A boring one at that because I’ve met some crazy and interesting old ladies with a story. I’ve also noticed that I made a lot of contradictions in a past sentence. I definitely made homemade mashed potatoes. I definitely made a meatLOAF. Both dishes qualify as falling into the BORING category according to me. What I do have to say in my defense is, they were exceptions lol. I made the meatloaf because I wanted to see if I could make it like my mom so the dish was actually a x variable. Lastly, the mashed potatoes weren’t just your regular bland, mashed potatoes. My mashed potatoes had a lot of flavor to them and it had roasted garlic bits in it. How many times do you hear about roasted garlic bits in mashed potatoes??

Anyway, this is how I made it. I took cream of mushroom soup and put it in a big mixing bowl. Then, I noticed the second container I had was cream of asparagus, not mushroom. I taste tested both to see if the flavors would clash and I decided to try both together. After, I took 3 cans of green beans, drained them, and added them to the bowl. Drained a can of mushroom stems and added it to the mixture. Took one cup of sour cream and added as well. Mixed in a little of cheddar cheese and fried onion rings. LAstly I added some salt and pepper and mixed everything together. I put the oven on for 350 and put the mixer into a baking dish, covered it with cheddar cheese, and then fried onion rings. Cooked the green bean casserole for 30 minutes and called it a day. Now I think I should have put the onion rings on after the casserole was cooked because they burned a little. I just thought about it, maybe I should have added tuna or chicken? I wanted to add red pepper flakes for spice but after taste testing the soups, I figured there would be too many strong flavors.

Overall, the casserole was really flavorful. I tasted really good. The onion rings were kind of crunchy but still good. I have no complaints. I actually want some more.

Watch my taste tester Virendra’s take on it.